release date

Buy the CD here: Price incl.shipping and handling in Nl and Europe is 32,50 euro, it is a double CD!!!

Chamber9 plays Ellington/Strayhorn (double CD!)

  • CD1: Sophisticated Lady/Cotton Tail
  • Starcrossed Lovers
  • I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart
  • Rain Check
  • A Flower Is A Lovesome Thing
  • Satin Doll
  • The Intimacy Of The Blues
  • Johnny Come Lately
  • CD2: Daydream
  • Do Nothing 'till You Hear From Me
  • Warm Valley
  • Blue Rose
  • Solitude
  • Caravan
  • Lush Life
  • U.M.M.G
  • Take The "A"Train
  • Coda: Lotus Blossom

The spectacular first release of this very special group, founded by Axel Hagen in 2019. Chamber9 has a unique sound through the use of string instruments in combination with jazz vocals and rhythm section, “Chamber Jazz” on a very high level featuring the colorful arrangements of Axel Hagen, specially written for this group. This double CD features selected compositions of two Jazz masters, composer/musicians: Duke Ellington and Billy Strayhorn. Each CD consists of a compilation of about 45 minutes of continuous music. The arrangements are written in a way that the pieces connect, like a suite, creating a fascinating and entertaining listening experience.